Current students

[Finland] Aalto University School of Arts, Design and Architecture

Aalto University 
[Finnish] Aalto-yliopisto 

Multi-Departmental Agreements 
Partner Affiliation: School of Arts, Design and Architecture 

Aalto University was established in 2010 as a result of the merger of three universities: Helsinki School of Economics, Helsinki University of Technology and the University of Art and Design Helsinki. Aalto University is named after the leading Finnish architect, Alvar Aalto.  

The University of Art and Design in Helsinki, founded in 1871, was the predecessor of Aalto University’s School of Arts, Design and Architecture, which has an inter-departmental exchange agreement with the School of Design and Graduate School of Design. It is one of the leading research institutions in Finland and is world-renowned in the field of “industrial design”. 

The School of Art, Design and Architecture has five majors: Film, TV and Scenography, Media, Design, Architecture and Arts, with a strong interdisciplinary approach to innovation education. The building was renovated in 2018 and is now accessible by subway from the central station. The School of Engineering conducted a problem-based learning educational program in collaboration with domestic companies at the Design Factory (TKK). 

Updated October 2020